Is It Halal?


Just yesterday ago I made a plan to make a small celebration of my graduation with my Malaysian buddies in one of Japanese Restaurant (Hanamasa) in the mall, right after I announced my will to eat in that place through BBM message suddenly I remember that the restaurant that I am going to is didn't officially HALAL certified yet by MUI (Majelis Ulama Indonesia - Indonesian Ulama Coucil). My mind was really confused, I clearly remember that I saw "HALAL" sign in one of the Islamic Magazine but it was long time ago, so I am sure to going to that place, several hours later I am really anxious (I was so labile) so I check the internet and find any article about "halal" in that restaurant, almost 90% people stated that restaurant is not halal or didn't halal certified yet, I figured out what made it non halal, they said that the sauce is not halal because contained low-level of alcohol.
But I was in denial phase, I make sure that they're wrong (the people who declared it's not halal) so I convince myself that I am going to the restaurant and I will eat the vegetables and the soup  only (without the sauce) because my nafs (in my mind) I am thinking about how delicious and fresh the Yakiniku and Shabu-Shabu. But once again Allah saved me (Alhamdulillah) my lusts is defeated by my fear, Alhamdulillah I still have eeman *blushing*

This is what I was looking for

What's halal? According Khala Wikipedia, Halal (Arabic: حلال ḥalāl, "permissible") is a term designating any object or an action which is permissible to use or engage in, according to Islamic law. The term is used to designate food seen as permissible according to Islamic law. The opposite of this word is haraam.
Halal foods are foods that Muslims are allowed to eat under Islamic dietary guidelines. The criteria specify both what foods are allowed, and how the food must be prepared. The foods addressed are mostly types of meat/animal tissue. that term not only covers food and drink, but also to all matters of daily life. When it comes to halal food, most people think of meat foods only. However, Muslims must ensure that all foods, particularly processed foods, pharmaceuticals, and non-food items like cosmetics, are also halal. Frequently, these products contain animal by-products or other ingredients that are not permissible for Muslims to eat or use on their bodies.
O you People! Eat of what is on earth, Halal and pure, and do not follow the footsteps of the Satan; Indeed for he is to you an open enemy (2:168)
O you who believe! Eat of the good things that We have provided for you and be grateful to Allah, if it is Him that you worship (2:172)
About the sauce that provided in that restaurant which is contained alcohol made me remember one hadith:
عن ‏ ‏عبد الله بن عمرو ‏ ‏قال ‏ ‏قال رسول الله ‏ ‏صلى الله عليه وسلم ‏ ‏من شرب الخمر وسكر لم تقبل له صلاة أربعين صباحا وإن مات دخل النار فإن تاب تاب الله عليه وإن عاد فشرب فسكر لم تقبل له صلاة أربعين صباحا فإن مات دخل النار فإن تاب تاب الله عليه وإن عاد فشرب فسكر لم تقبل له صلاة أربعين صباحا فإن مات دخل النار فإن تاب تاب الله عليه وإن عاد كان حقا على الله أن يسقيه من ردغة الخبال يوم القيامة قالوا يا رسول الله وما ردغة الخبال قال عصارة أهل النار 

"Abdullah ibn Amr said that the Prophet SAW said, People who drink khamr/alcohol and get drunk, his prayer is not accepted for 40 days. When he died in the hell. If he repent, God will forgive him. But if the back drinking khamr/alcohol and drunk, his prayer is not accepted for 40 days. When he die he will go to the hell. When he returned to drink again, then the right of Allah to give him a drink of Radghatul Khabal on the Day of Resurrection. The Companions asked, Ya Rasulallah, what's Radaghatul khabal? He replied; the squeezed people from the hell."
I could't imagine if my prayer is not accepted for 40 days and I do believe that my business would not be smooth if I eat that sauce. Honestly I didn't remember any ayah from Al Qur'an except the hadith above (stated by Abdullah ibn Amr) 
Pathetic -_-
And also, Forbidden to you are Maytah (carrion or dead animal, animal not slaughtered with Tasmiyah .i.e. mentioning the name of Allah swt), flowing blood, the flesh of swine, and that slaughter on which was invoked name other than Allah, as well as the (animal) killed by strangulation or beaten to death with violent blow or falling (from a height) to its death or gored to death (through fighting) or by falling to a predator (and about to be consumed) -- unless you are able to slaughter in the name of Allah (swt) and carry out the sacrifice before it dies)…. (5:3)


Note: In the above ayah, the animal / bird not slaughtered with Tasmiyah are considered dead animal (Maytah) and are unlawful (haram) to eat, and it is mentioned before the mentioning the flesh of swine to be unlawful (haram); they are at the same level of haram.


Eat of that over which the name of Allah (swt) has been pronounced (while slaughtering that animal/bird), if you are believers in His revelations (6:118)
And why should you not eat of that (meat) on which Allah's Name has been pronounced (at the time of slaughter), while He has explained to you in detail what is forbidden to you, except under extreme necessity? (6:119)
Eat not (O believers) of that meat on which Allah’s Name has not been pronounced (at the time of slaughtering) for sure it is disobedience of Allah (a sinful conduct). And certainly, the Shayaatin (devils) do inspire their friends (from mankind) to dispute with you, and if you obey them [making al-Maytatah legal to eat (Maytatah - a dead animal or animal / bird slaughtered without taking the name of Allah during slaughter)], then you would indeed be a polytheists (doing shirk, ascribing partners to Allah) (6:121)
And such animals upon which they mention not the name of Allah only to fabricate a lie against him (6:138)
So eat of the lawful (Halal) and good food (Tayyib) which Allah has provided for you (16:114)
For every nation we have appointed [sacred] rites of sacrifice so that they may take the name of Allah (swt) upon the animals [at the time of slaughter] that He gave them as sustenance (22:34)
Take the name of Allah (swt) upon them [at the time of slaughter] as they line up (for sacrifice) (22:36)

From the hadiths that I've mentioned above, we learn that both the prophets and the believers have been commanded to eat from the tayyibat, or the pure things. Purity is achieved when one earns his sustenance in a halal manner, and then uses it to buy halal food. So, if a person buys pure food from stolen money, this will not be accepted from him. Likewise, if one earns money from permissible means, then uses it to buy impermissible items, such as intoxicants, this too will not be accepted from him. Only when both of these conditions have been met - the way one earns money and the way one spends it - will Allah's acceptance be gained.


“Halal (the Lawful & Permissible) is clear and Haram (the Unlawful & Impermissible) is clear. Between halal and haram lays some doubtful things. Many people do not know whether it is permissible or not. Whoever leaves out these doubtful things in order to protect his religion and honor, then he is safe. Whoever indulges in these doubtful things/matters it is very possible that he will fall into haram, similar to a person who grazes his animals near the royal pasture it is very possible that one day he will graze in the royal pasture. Behold! Every king has a royal pasture and the royal pasture of Allah is those things which have been made impermissible.” (Tirmidhi 1205)

Do you know shubhat? Yeah, you're right between halal and haram is shubhat, so if you leaving these doubtful things you already protecting this deen and the honor of this deen and ummah (insha Allah), in my logic; let's say that the halal food is white cat water color and the haram food is black cat water color, and shubhat is the gray color, the mixed color of white and black cat water color, you'll notice there's still a black color inside that food so it's haram right, right? So what are you thinking about? Just leave it and find another food.
The Prophet (salallahu alaihi wa sallam) said, “Avoid whatever you have doubts about in favor of what is not (doubtful).” (Tirmidhi)
Sayyiduna Ka`b Ibn Ujrah (radhiallahu anhu) relates that the Prophet (salallahu alaihi wasallam) said, “A body nourished with haram will not enter Jannah”. (Tirmidhi 614)

So, watch what you eat and drink!!


Source:

  • Khala Wikipedia - http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Halal
  • Riyanto Blog - http://blog.re.or.id/minum-khamar-tidak-diterima-shalat-40-hari.htm
  • Islamic Network - http://www.islaam.net/main/display.php?id=1216&category=75
  • Halal n Pure - http://halalnpure.com/what-quran--hadith-say.html

No comments: